Journal of the House for Thursday, January 10, 1935, as follows:

In Rule 1, lines 6 and 7, after the word "at", by striking out the words "two o'clock P. M." and inserting in lieu thereof the words "ten o'clock A. M."

Which amendment shall take effect and be in force beginning Tuesday, April 9, 1935.

Mr. Dunn moved adoption of the foregoing report of the Committee on Rules.

Which motion prevailed and the report of the Committee on Rules was adopted.

Mr. Dunn, from the Committee on Rules, moved to amend the permanent rules of the House as they appear in the printed Journal of the House for Thursday, January 10, 1935, by adding to Rule 4 a new sub-section to be numbered 4c and to read as follows:

"All motions to amend a bill shall be drawn in the following form:

With reference to the printed bill or the typewritten bill, as the case may be, Mr..... moves to amend H. F. No...., page..., Section..., line..., as follows: (Here insert the proposed amendment.)

Stenographers shall be furnished a copy of this rule and they are specifically enjoined to observe the same."

Mr. Dunn moved adoption of the foregoing report of the Committee on Rules.

Which motion prevailed and the report of the Committee on Rules was adopted.

NOTICE OF MOTION FOR SPECIAL ORDER.

Mr. Masek gave notice that on Saturday, April 6, he will move to make H. F. No. 840 a special order for Thursday, April 11, at 2:30 o'clock P. M.

EXECUTIVE AND OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS.

STATE OF MINNESOTA, EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT. St. Paul, April 4, 1935.

Hon. G. W. Johnson, Speaker of the House of Representatives: Dear Sir:

I am returning to you without my approval H. F. No. 4. This bill is obviously a political document, inspired by the dismissal by the State Board of Education of a person who heretofore has had charge of the department for the rehabilitation of disabled persons. No legislative move has been made during past years to change the jurisdiction over the department, and undoubtedly no move would have been made at this time had not the department head been dismissed from the service.

Furthermore, if a change of jurisdiction is considered advisable, the proper department to which the rehabilitation project should be transferred is the State Board of Control. The Board

of Control has jurisdiction of all persons who are incapacitated because of physical or mental infirmity. It maintains a hospital and school for crippled children. The same opportunities for medical care for the disabled through the University Hospital are available whether the rehabilitation work is directed by the Board of Regents of the University, the State Board of Education, or the State Board of Control.

If adequate reasons exist for transferring the project I will be pleased to sign a bill providing for its transfer to the Board

of Control.

Respectfully yours,
FLOYD B. OLSON,
Governor.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS—CONTINUED.

Mr. Wahlstrand moved that the foregoing Message from the Governor, together with H. F. No. 4, be laid upon the table. Which motion prevailed.

SPECIAL ORDER CONTINUED TO 2:15 P. M.

Mr. Horwitz moved the previous question on H. F. No. 816. Which motion prevailed.

H. F. No. 816, A bill for an act to amend Laws 1933, Chapter 356, Section 1, as amended by Extra Session Laws of 1933, relating to limitation of tax rate in certain school districts.

Was read the third time and placed upon its final passage.

The question being taken on the passage of the bill,

And the roll being called, there were yeas 71, and nays 57, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Amundson	Ettel	Iverson	$\mathbf{Nellermoe}$	Tighe
Bellman	Finstuen	${ m Jebb}$	Nelson	Wahlstrand
Boberg	Forsythe	Jesten	Nissen	Waldal
Brophey	Gibbons	Julkowski	Nordin	Wanvick
Chilgren	Green	Kueffner	O'Rourke	Weeks
Coduti	Hagland	Lager	Ost	White, F. W.
Costello	Hall, L. M.	Lockhart	Paige	White, J. J.
Cox	Hart	Lowe	Paulson, J. A.	Wier
Daly	Hartkopf	Lux	Schwartz	Youngquist
Dawson	Hastings	MacKinnon	Severson	Zwach
Dixon	Hayford	McNulty	Severtson	Mr. Speaker
Dunn	Herfindahl	Masek	Sweitzer	•
Eastvold	Hilton	Melby	Syreen	
Erickson, G.	Horwitz	Merrill	Thompson	
Eriksson, L.	Hove	\mathbf{Miller}	Thorkelson	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Andersen, H.C. Anderson, Ray Barker Bennett Biever Campbell, L.A. Campbell, W. H Champlin	Covert Crissey Dahle, C. A. Dalen Dammann	Frederickson Friberg Friederichs Gryte Hagen Hall, W. H. Halverson Hartle	Havemeier Helgeson Hogan Johnson, R. G. Kempfer Kettner Kieffer Kinzer	Lee Lieske Lockwood Long Madden Mann Martz McIntosh