

STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
130 STATE CAPITOL
SAINT PAUL 55155

28 May 1991

The Honorable Jerome Hughes President of the Senate State of Minnesota 328 State Capitol Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear President Hughes:

I have vetoed and am returning to you Chapter 216, Senate File 820/House File 883, a bill relating to the maintenance and renovation of State Fair buildings. The major policy change in this bill is the exemption of these buildings from governance by the Minnesota Department of Administration for any maintenance or renovation activity.

With the exemption proposed in this bill, no jurisdiction may impose even a minimum level of life safety in State Fair buildings. The Department of Administration points out, and rightly so, that sleeping occupancies are especially vulnerable to loss of life in case of fire or other emergencies.

In the past a State Fair 4-H renovation project converted the third floor of a highly combustible structure to a dormitory for 900 juveniles. The dormitory was equipped with only one means of exit and no fire fighting capabilities. Other incidents that call into question whether an exemption of this kind is in order include the structural collapse of the State Fair education building and the erection of a "fun house" with seriously inadequate fire and life safety capabilities.

The Honorable Jerome Hughes President of the Senate Senate File 820 Veto Message 28 May 1991 Page 2

State Fair buildings are public structures which house tens of thousands of people annually. Accordingly, the State must take every precaution to ensure some reasonable level of public safety. Legislation that weakens our jurisdiction in this area cannot be signed into law.

Sincerely,

ARNE H. CARLSON

Governor

c: Representative Robert Vanasek, Speaker of the House Representative Terry Dempsey, Minority Leader Representative Tom Osthoff, House Chief Author Senator Roger Moe, Majority Leader Senator Duane Benson, Minority Leader Senator Florian Chmielewski, Senate Chief Author Mr. Patrick Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate Mr. Edward A. Burdick, Chief Clerk of the House Ms. Joan Anderson Growe, Secretary of State