

STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR 130 STATE CAPITOL SAINT PAUL 55155

May 24, 1993

The Honorable Dee Long Speaker of the House Minnesota House of Representatives 463 State Office Building Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Speaker Long:

I have vetoed and am returning Chapter 346, House File 373/Senate File 891, a bill amending the Public Employees Labor Relations Act (PELRA) and the laws governing private sector labor relations.

This bill would allow the provisions of the first contract negotiated by a new bargaining unit in the public and private sector to be taken to binding arbitration.

I believe that this legislation would remove an important incentive for the parties to carefully negotiate the first contract, thereby leaving the standard contract language provisions to the arbitration process. I believe that these matters are most appropriately negotiated by the employer and employee because of their familiarity with the workplace.

Further I believe this legislation is preempted by federal labor law. As a result, it may place an ill-advised obstacle to the collective bargaining process as envisioned under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA). Under current law, if employers go over board in their negotiating strategy, they will face severe legal liabilities and penalties. Possibly, the penalty or complaint process needs to be examined. However, we cannot upset the historic balance created over 50 years in the NLRA by the passage of this legislation.

Finally, I object to creating additional negative signals to employers and entrepreneurs who are looking to expand or create jobs in Minnesota.

Warmest regards,

ARNE H. CARLSON

Governor

The Honorable Dee Long Veto Message Chapter 346 May 24, 1993 Page Two of Two

c: Senator Allan Spear, President of the Senate
Senator Roger Moe, Majority Leader
Senator Dean Johnson, Minority Leader
Representative Irv Anderson, Majority Leader
Representative Steve Sviggum, Minority Leader
Senator Carl Kroening, Chief Author
Representative Mary Murphy, Chief Author
Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate
Mr. Edward A. Burdick, Chief Clerk of the House
Ms. Joan Anderson Growe, Secretary of State