## ARNE H. CARLSON GOVERNOR

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR 130 STATE CAPITOL SAINT PAUL 55155

May 24, 1993

The Honorable Allan Spear President of the Senate G-27 Capitol Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

## Dear President Spear:

I have vetoed and am returning Chapter 349, Senate File 811/House File 1125, a bill relating to a metropolitan high speed bus system implementation study.

This bill would spend \$50,000 on yet another study of an issue that is currently being examined in the metro area on several fronts. The current plans and studies include:

The Metropolitan Council's Transit Facilities Plan, issued in February, 1992, examined eighteen transportation corridors and suggested transit improvements in each, including high occupancy vehicle (HOV) lanes on I-94 north from Minneapolis and I-94 east from Saint Paul.

The Regional Transit Board's "Vision for Transit" already includes elements of this concept such as timed-transfer bus stations.

MnDOTs Alternatives Analysis of the Central Corridor between Minneapolis and Saint Paul is currently examining a busway as one alternative transit improvement. The draft Environmental Impact Statement for this corridor is scheduled to be completed in the Fall of 1993.

"Team Transit" is currently examining methods of improving bus service in the I-494 and I-35W corridors.

The provision of intercity bus service, including links to the Twin Cities, is currently being examined by MnDOT in its Greater Minnesota Transit Plan.

The Honorable Allan Spear Veto Message Chapter 349 May 24, 1993 Page Two of Two

Accordingly, this study would be largely duplicative and an inefficient use of scarce financial resources.

Warmest regards,

ARNE H. CARLSON

Governor

c: Senator Roger Moe, Majority Leader
Senator Dean Johnson, Minority Leader
Representative Dee Long, Speaker of the House
Representative Irv Anderson, Majority Leader
Representative Steve Sviggum, Minority Leader
Senator Phil Riveness, Chief Author
Representative Mark Mahon, Chief Author
Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate
Mr. Edward A. Burdick, Chief Clerk of the House
Ms. Joan Anderson Growe, Secretary of State