STATE OF MINNESOTA



OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR 130 STATE CAPITOL SAINT PAUL 55155

ARNE H. CARLSON

GOVERNOR

May 10, 1995

The Honorable Allan Spear President of the Senate G-27 Capitol Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear President Spear:

I have vetoed and I am returning Chapter 157, Senate File 308/House File 416, a bill relating to special motor vehicle license plates.

This bill is clearly an unfunded mandate to the Department of Public Safety. Currently, if the DWI violator were not the owner of the car being driven at the time of incident, plates would be returned with the costs paid by the State of Minnesota. This bill would have allowed non-driving owners to get their plates back only if they did not know the person was driving their car. This could be shown by reporting the car as missing to a law enforcement agency. If no report were made, the owner would have to apply and pay for special license plates. By forcing the owners to be more responsible and accountable for the use of their automobile, the bill would hope to lessen the number of DWI drivers on our highways.

However, this bill does not grant Public Safety the appropriation necessary to implement these laudable goals.

The department estimates that an additional three employees would be needed to process the 10,000 special license plates that would have to be issued annually. The department calculates their cost would be \$124,000 per year. If the department were given the funds to carry out the program, they would be able to supply the General Fund with approximately \$250,000 per year in receipts.

It is unfortunate that good policy, one that would have brought additional money into the general fund while keeping drunk drivers off the road, could not have been appropriately funded.

Warmest regards.

ARNE H. CARLSON

Governor

Veto Message Chapter 157 May 10, 1995 Page Two of Two

c: Senator Roger Moe, Majority Leader
Senator Dean Johnson, Minority Leader
Representative Irv Anderson, Speaker of the House
Representative Steve Sviggum, Minority Leader
Chief Senate Author(s)
Chief House Author(s)
Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate
Mr. Edward A. Burdick, Chief Clerk of the House
Ms. Joan Anderson Growe, Secretary of State