May 29, 2004

Honorable Mary Kiffmeyer Secretary of State 180 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 Statement of Item Veto

Dear Secretary Kiffmeyer:

It is my honor to inform you that I have received, signed and deposited with your office, Chapter 271, House File 2255. I have exercised item vetoes on the items of appropriation contained in Section 2, Subdivision 1, lines 17-22 and Section 2, Subdivision 1, Lines 23-32 of Chapter 271, House File 2255.

Section 2, Subdivision 1, lines 17-22 appropriated \$27,000 from the general fund to provide for full and final settlement of Linda and Judy Bode's claims against the state. Section 2, Subdivision 1, Lines 23-32 is dependant upon the appropriation of money.

I do not believe this appropriation is in the best interests of the State of Minnesota. The language making the appropriation provides that the appropriation is for the purpose of obtaining "full and final settlement" of the Bode's claims against the state. However, the additional language in Section 2, Subdivision 1 makes it clear that the payment of money envisioned by the appropriation requires the state to initiate an administrative hearing to once again reconsider the status of land currently designated as a public wetland.

The legal claims regarding the designation of the Bode's land as a public wetland are final court orders. Allowing one claimant a special privilege to circumvent the results of final court decisions sets a dangerous precedent. More legal proceedings on this issue and more attempts to declassify this land as a public wetland is not a "full and final settlement" which is the stated purpose of the appropriation. Moreover, the legislature failed to appropriate any funds to cover the costs of the administrative hearing.

The Department of Natural Resources remains committed to work with the Bodes on acquiring an easement or other agreeable restoration strategies.

Sincerely,

Tim Pawlenty Governor

cc: Ed Burdick, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives
Patrick Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate
Representative Steve Sviggum, Speaker of the House
Representative Matt Entenza, House Minority Leader
Senator Dean Johnson, Senate Majority Leader
Senator Dick Day, Senate Minority Leader
Representative Bruce Anderson
Senator Wes Skoglund