

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## Office of Governor Tim Pawlenty

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard • Saint Paul, MN 55155

May 30, 2007

The Honorable Margaret Anderson Kelliher Speaker, Minnesota House of Representatives 463 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Statement of Item Veto – Chapter 143, H.F. 562

Dear Speaker Anderson Kelliher:

It is my honor to inform you that I have received, approved, signed, and deposited in the Office of the Secretary of State, Chapter 143, House File 562, with the exception of the item veto listed below:

Page 5 lines 5.5-5.8: A \$200,000 grant in Article 1, Section 3 to the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs for participation in the Urban Partnership Agreement (UPA) Congestion program.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Council have submitted a proposal to the United States Department of Transportation for funding of congestion relief strategies under the federal Urban Transportation Partnership (UPA) program. This bill allows spending of "up to" \$1 million from the state Trunk Highway Fund to fund state activities in support of the UPA proposal and program. I support this appropriation. However, this bill also appropriates \$200,000 of those funds to the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs for participation in the UPA program. I appreciate the Humphrey Institute's interest in the UPA program. However, if the state is to fund their activities with Trunk Highway funds, those activities must be managed by the Minnesota Department of Transportation under appropriate consulting and/or technical service contractual agreements.

Sincerely Tim Pawlenty Governor

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 Fax: (651) 296-2089 TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 An Equal Opportunity Employer Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us

Printed on recycled paper containing 15% post consumer material

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Majority Leader
Senator James Metzen, President of the Senate
Senator David Senjem, Minority Leader
Senator Steve Murphy
Representative Bernard Lieder
Representative Marty Seifert, Minority Leader
Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate
Mr. Al Mathiowetz, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives
Mr. Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State

CC: