

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Tim Pawlenty

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard • Saint Paul, MN 55155

April 30, 2007

The Honorable Senator James Metzen President of the Senate 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. 322 State Capitol Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear President Metzen:

I have vetoed and am returning Chapter 27, Senate File 1017.

Under current law, charter commissions for non-first class cities may spend up to \$1,500.00 per year in annual expenses without city council approval. Charter Commissions may spend more if authorized by city councils. This bill would increase the annual amount of expenses allowed without city council approval to \$5,000.00 per year.

I strongly believe that city government and taxpayer revenues should be under the control of the elected city council, not charter commissions. City council members are the individuals whom the voters have entrusted to make decisions for the spending of city funds and are in the best position to weigh the spending priorities of the city. More than tripling the annual expense accounts for these non-elected charter commissions and bypassing the city council in the process is not necessary for the efficient operation of local government and makes city government less accountable.

I am mindful that many things have changed since the current law was first put into place in 1961. Again, however, if these commissions have legitimate expense needs, current law allows the city council to approve expenditures beyond the current limit. The Legislature need not usurp city councils in this regard.

Sincerely,

Tim Pawlenty

Governor

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717

Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us

Fax: (651) 296-2089

TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 An Equal Opportunity Employer

Printed on recycled paper containing 15% post consumer material

Senator James Metzen Page 2 April 30, 2007

cc: Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Majority Leader

Senator David Senjem, Minority Leader

Senator Ann Rest

Representative Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Speaker of the House

Representative Marty Seifert, Minority Leader

Representative Carolyn Laine

Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

Mr. Al Mathiowetz, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives

Mr. Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State