TILES TO THE STATE OF THE STATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Tim Pawlenty

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard • Saint Paul, MN 55155

April 25, 2008

The Honorable Margaret Anderson Kelliher Speaker of the House of Representatives 463 State Office Building Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Speaker Anderson Kelliher:

I have vetoed and am returning House File 3220, Chapter 237, a bill granting political subdivisions general authority to make unlimited monetary or in-kind grants to nonprofit organizations.

Political subdivisions derive their powers from the state. Existing law already allows political subdivisions to make grants to nonprofit organizations pursuant to specific appropriations or statutory authority. Local governments also have broad authority to enter contracts or other agreements with nonprofit and other entities to facilitate services to individuals on behalf of the local government.

At a time when many political subdivisions are raising property taxes and requesting additional local government aid, granting political subdivisions authority to use taxpayer money to make unlimited charitable contributions or initiate new grant programs is simply not warranted.

I believe strongly in supporting charitable organizations. However, instead of granting local elected officials the power to make charitable contributions and grants to nonprofits using taxpayer money, political subdivisions should be focusing on ways to lower property taxes. With lower property taxes and more money in their pockets, Minnesota taxpayers can decide for themselves which religious, charitable, or other nonprofit organizations they would like to support.

Sincerely,

Tim Pawlenty Governor

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us Fax: (651) 296-2089

TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 An Equal Opportunity Employer

Printed on recycled paper containing 15% post consumer material

Speaker Kelliher/HF 3220 Page 2 April 25, 2008

Cc: Senator James Metzen, President of the Senate Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Majority Leader

Senator David Senjem, Minority Leader

Senator Jim Vickerman

Representative Marty Seifert, Minority Leader

Representative Jim Davnie

Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

Mr. Al Mathiowetz, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives

Mr. Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State