

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Tim Pawlenty

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard • Saint Paul, MN 55155

May 17, 2010

The Honorable Senator James Metzen President of the Senate 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. 322 State Capitol Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear President Metzen:

I have signed into law, with a number of line-item vetoes, the Environmental and Natural Resources omnibus bill, Chapter 361, Senate File 3275.

- Page 37, lines 37.14 37.18: The \$100,000 appropriation in fiscal year 2011 from the clean water fund to the Board of Water and Soil Resources for the purpose of establishing a micro-grants pilot program to engage citizen volunteers. The purpose of this pilot program remains vague and it appears to be similar to last year's vetoed appropriation for grants to the Star Lake Board.
- Page 100, lines 100.29 100.30: This section allows the PUC to assess up to \$800,000 per year for supplemental staffing. In a time of when the state must live within its means, adding additional staff at the expense of Minnesota ratepayers sends the wrong message. I have therefore vetoed the words "and appropriated to the commission."
- <u>Page 108, lines 108.11 108.19</u>: The appropriation of \$90,000 to the Commissioner of Commerce for transfer to the city of Minneapolis for a grant to an organization with experience in energy conservation and energy planning. Projects of this type normally do not receive funds from the renewable development fund for localized studies and I am concerned about the precedence that this would set.

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 An Equal Opportunity Employer

Fax: (651) 296-2089

President Metzen/SF 3275 Page 2 May 17, 2010

Sincerely,

Tim Pawlenty Governor

cc:

Representative Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Speaker of the House

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Majority Leader

Senator David Senjem, Minority Leader

Senator Ellen Anderson

Representative Kurt Zellers, Minority Leader

Representative Jean Wagenius

Representative Mary Murphy

Mr. Peter S. Wattson, Secretary of the Senate (Legislative)

Mr. Albin Mathiowetz, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives

Mr. Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State