

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Mark Dayton

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd • Saint Paul, MN 55155-1611

May 19, 2018

The Honorable Kurt Daudt Speaker of the House State Office Building, Room 463 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Mr. Speaker:

I have vetoed and am returning Chapter 147, House File 2940, a bill that would have required Legislative approval for water permit fees.

Water fees at the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) have not been raised comprehensively since 1992, which has caused a structural imbalance in the agency's budget. To address this problem, the agency formed a Water Fee Advisory Committee in the fall of 2017. That Committee has been, and will continue, providing advice to the Commissioner on how to revise water fees.

The Legislature already has ample oversight of state agencies, including legislative reports, appropriations hearings, financial and program audits by the Office of the Legislative Auditor, and requests for information from individual legislators and legislative committees. It is redundant and unnecessary to add a legislative approval to agency fee adjustments. This unnecessary "administrative hoop" would interrupt an ongoing stakeholder process without addressing the current structural imbalance in the agency's budget.

I am vetoing this bill because it is an unwarranted and inappropriate legislative overreach.

Mark Dayton

Governor

cc:

Senator Michelle L. Fischbach, President of the Senate Senator Paul E. Gazelka, Senate Majority Leader Senator Thomas M. Bakk, Senate Minority Leader Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen, Chief Senate Author

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850

MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer The Honorable Kurt Daudt May 19, 2018 Page 2

> Representative Melissa Hortman, House Minority Leader Representative Matt Bliss, Chief House Author The Honorable Steve Simon, Secretary of State Mr. Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate Mr. Patrick Murphy, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives

Mr. Paul Marinac, Revisor of Statutes