

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Mark Dayton

130 State Capitol • 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd • Saint Paul, MN 55155-1611

May 30, 2018

The Honorable Kurt Daudt Speaker of the House State Office Building, Room 463 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Mr. Speaker:

I have vetoed and am returning Chapter 206, House File 3463, a bill relating to motor vehicles.

While I support the policy goals reflected in House File 3463, I will not sign a bill that requires changes in the MNLARS system, unless sufficient funding is provided to carry out that work. The Legislature has refused to provide adequate funding to improve the MNLARS system over the remainder of this biennium. Therefore, further mandating policy changes without any additional funds undermines the established stakeholder process and jeopardizes the completion of high priority items.

I also will not sign a bill that reduces resources for the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS). It is imperative that the DVS Special Revenue Accounts remain stable, in order for the agency to meet its statutory business obligations into the future, as was intended when the Legislature established those accounts.

These concerns were communicated by my Commissioners and their staff throughout this Session; but, unfortunately, the parties were unable to reach a mutually agreeable solution for the final bill. DPS and Minnesota IT Services (MN.IT) will continue to work with all stakeholders on development priorities for MNLARS within the resources available.

Sincerely,
Mark Dayton
Governor

cc:

Lieutenant Governor Michelle Fischbach Senator William Limmer, President Pro Tem of the Senate Senator Paul E. Gazelka, Senate Majority Leader

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850

MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer The Honorable Kurt Daudt May 30, 2018 Page 2

> Senator Thomas M. Bakk, Senate Minority Leader Senator John R. Jasinski, Chief Senate Author Representative Melissa Hortman, House Minority Leader Representative John Petersburg, Chief House Author The Honorable Steve Simon, Secretary of State Mr. Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate Mr. Patrick Murphy, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives Mr. Paul Marinac, Revisor of Statutes