

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## Office of Governor Mark Dayton

116 Veterans Service Building • 20 West 12th Street • Saint Paul, MN 55155

August 30, 2016

Mr. Joe Kelly Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management Minnesota Department of Public Safety 445 Minnesota Street, Suite #223 St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Dear Director Kelly:

Based upon supporting documents provided to me by the Department of Public Safety-Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, I have determined that damage in certain areas of Aitkin, Benton, Carlton, Crow Wing, Kanabec, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, and Traverse counties resulting from severe thunderstorms, high winds, tornadoes, and flooding during the period July 9-11, 2016, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant the use of the State Public Disaster Assistance fund, as described under Minn. Stat. §12B.

In order to provide state public disaster assistance, I hereby designate you as my authorized representative so that you may:

- allocate such amounts as you find necessary for state disaster assistance from funds available for these purposes;
- provide public assistance in the designated area; and
- provide additional assistance if requested by a local government; and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, to the extent allowable under Minn. Stat. §12B.



cc: Commissioner Ramona Dohman, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Commissioner Myron Frans, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
J. Mark Wedel, Aitkin County Board Chair
Nathan Burkett, Aitkin County Administrator
Sheriff Scott Turner, Aitkin County Emergency Management Director
Spencer Buerkle, Benton County Board Chair
Montgomery Headley, Benton County Administrator
James McDermott, Benton County Emergency Management Director
Thomas R. Proulx, Carlton County Board Chair

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850

MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer Dennis Genereau, Carlton County Coordinator

Brian Belich, Carlton County Emergency Management Director

Doug Houge, Crow Wing County Board Chair

Timothy J. Houle, Crow Wing County Administrator

John Bowen, Crow Wing County Emergency Management Director

Gene Anderson, Kanabec County Board Chair

Pat Christopherson, Kanabec County Coordinator

Kathy Burski, Kanabec County Emergency Management Director

Dale Fenrich, Meeker County Board Chair

Paul J. Virnig, Meeker County Administrator

Dan Miller, Meeker County Emergency Management Director

Roger Tellinghuisen, Mille Lacs County Board Chair

Pat Oman, Mille Lacs County Administrator

Al Fjerstad, Mille Lacs County Emergency Management Director

Randy H. Winscher, Morrison County Board Chair

Deb Gruber, Morrison County Administrator

Sheriff Shawn Larsen, Morrison County Emergency Management Director

Curt Rossow, Pine County Board Chair

David Minke, Pine County Administrator

Sheriff Jeffrey Nelson, Pine County Emergency Management Director

Kevin Leininger, Traverse County Board Chair

Rhonda Braaten-Antrim, Traverse County Coordinator

Lynn Siegel, Traverse County Emergency Management Director