

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## Office of Governor Mark Dayton

116 Veterans Service Building • 20 West 12th Street • Saint Paul, MN 55155

October 4, 2016

Mr. Joe Kelly Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management Minnesota Department of Public Safety 445 Minnesota Street, Suite #223 St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Dear Director Kelly:

Based upon supporting documents provided to me by the Department of Public Safety-Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, I have determined that damage in certain areas of Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Clearwater County, Lake County, St. Louis County, and tribal lands of Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, and Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, resulting from severe thunderstorms, high winds, and flooding during the period July 19-21, 2016, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant the use of the State Public Disaster Assistance fund, as described under Minn. Stat. §12B.

In order to provide state public disaster assistance, I hereby designate you as my authorized representative so that you may:

- allocate such amounts as you find necessary for state disaster assistance from funds available for these purposes;
- provide public assistance in the designated area; and
- provide additional assistance if requested by a local government; and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, to the extent allowable under Minn. Stat. §12B.

Sincerely,

Mark Dayton

Governor

cc: Commissioner Ramona Dohman, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Commissioner Myron Frans, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
J. Mark Wedel, Aitkin County Board Chair
Patrick Wussow, Aitkin County Administrator
Sheriff Scott Turner, Aitkin County Emergency Management Director
Joe Vene, Beltrami County Board Chair
Kay Mack, Beltrami County Administrator
Christopher Muller, Beltrami County Emergency Management Director

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ Fax: (651) 797-1850

MN Relay (800) 627-3529 An Equal Opportunity Employer Jeff Peterson, Cass County Board Chair

Robert Yochum, Cass County Administrator

Kerry Swenson, Cass County Emergency Management Director

Neal Illies, Clearwater County Board Chair

Neal Dolan, Clearwater County Emergency Management Director

Rick Sve, Lake County Board Chair

Matthew Huddleston, Lake County Administrator

BJ Kohlstedt, Lake County Emergency Management Director

Steve Raukar, St. Louis County Board Chair

Kevin Gray, St. Louis County Administrator

Sheriff Ross Litman, St. Louis County Emergency Management Director

Cathy Chavers, Tribal Chair, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

Mike Connor, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

Kevin R. Dupuis, Sr., Chairman, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Cassie Diver, Emergency Management, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Mr. Faron Jackson Sr., Chairman, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Mr. Duane Oothoudt, Emergency Operations Manager, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe