THE WHITE HOUSE Office of the Press Secretary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 5, 2018

President Donald J. Trump Approves Minnesota Disaster Declaration

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Minnesota and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, Tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding from June 15 to July 11, 2018.

Federal funding is available to State and to Tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding in Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Itasca, Jackson, Koochiching, Lake, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Rock, St. Louis, Sibley, and Watonwan Counties, as well as the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation, and White Earth Nation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Brock Long, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Steven W. Johnson as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION MEDIA SHOULD CONTACT THE FEMA NEWS DESK AT (202) 646-3272 OR FEMA-NEWS-DESK@FEMA.DHS.GOV.

The White House · 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW · Washington DC 20500 · 202-456-1111