Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > > > > >

Legislative Time Capsule - 91st Legislature (2019-2020)

Session Dates (All Sessions)

  Convened Adjourned Calendar Days Legislative Days - House Legislative Days - Senate
1/8/2019 5/20/2019

Legislation (All Sessions)

  House - Bills Introduced Senate - Bills Introduced Laws Resolutions
2019 2921 Search 2925 Search Session Laws   Search

Legislation - Other Information

Vetoes (All Sessions)

  Full Bills Vetoed
(including pockets)
Pocket Vetoes Bills with Line Item Vetoes [# of lines vetoed] TOTAL
Full Bills Vetoed + Lines Vetoed
Full Bills Vetoed + Bills with Lines Vetoed
2019 0 0 0   [0] 0 0

Leadership     House Leadership Page      Senate Leadership Page

Speaker of the House Melissa Hortman  (Democratic-Farmer-Labor)
House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler  (Democratic-Farmer-Labor)
House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt  (Republican)
President of the Senate Jeremy R. Miller  (Republican)
Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka  (Republican)
Senate Minority Leader Thomas M. Bakk  (Democratic-Farmer-Labor)

Election Results

- Selected election results are available at this page.

Party Control of the House of Representatives (All Sessions)

Date Event Note Total Seats C/R/IR L/DFL Other Margin
1/8/2019 Convenes Four Republican members have established the New House Republican Caucus. [Total seats possible = 134] 134 59 75 0 16
2/12/2019 Resignation Rep. Jason Rarick (R, 11B) resigned effective February 12, 2019 in order to take the Senate District 11 seat he won in a special election on February 5, 2019. 133 58 75 0 17
3/27/2019 Special election Nathan Nelson (R) won the special election for a House seat in District 11B on March 19, 2019. He was sworn in on March 27, 2019. 134 59 75 0 16
C=Conservative  R=Republican  IR=Independent Republican  L=Liberal  DFL=Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Party Control of the Senate (All Sessions)

Date Event Note Total Seats C/R/IR L/DFL Other Margin
2/13/2019 Special election Rep. Jason Rarick (R, 11B) was elected in a special election in Senate District 11 on February 5, 2019. He was sworn in on February 13, 2019. 67 35 32 0 3
C=Conservative  R=Republican  IR=Independent Republican  L=Liberal  DFL=Democratic-Farmer-Labor

House Committees

Show/Hide House Committee Page

Senate Committees

Show/Hide Senate Committee Page