Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission

Active dates:July 1, 2018-

The commission reviews the work of the Legislative Budget Office and makes recommendations, as the commission determines necessary, to improve the office's ability to fulfill its duties. The commission performs other functions as directed by this section, and sections 3.8853 and 3.98.


The Legislative Budget Office (LBO) was created by the legislature in 2017, originally under the purview of the Legislative Coordinating Commission. The Legislative Budget Office Transition Planning Task Force met to develop a plan for the work of this new office. In 2018, the legislature created the Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission to provide oversight of the LBO.


The Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission consists of: two members of the senate appointed by the senate majority leader; two members of the senate appointed by the senate minority leader; two members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house; and two members of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader.

The director of the Legislative Budget Office is the executive secretary of the commission. The chief nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the house of representatives, the lead nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the senate, the commissioner of management and budget or a designee, and the legislative auditor are ex-officio, nonvoting members of the commission.

As of 2018, the following individuals serve on the LBO Oversight Commission:

Representative Lyndon Carlson
Represenative Jim Knoblach
Representative Mary Kunesh-Podein 
Representative Bob Vogel
Senator Richard Cohen
Senator Mary Kiffmeyer
Senator Tony Lourey
Senator Julie Rosen
Bill Marx, Chief Fiscal Analyst, House Fiscal Analysis Department 
Eric Nauman, Lead Fiscal Analyst, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis 
Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor
Britta Reitan, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget 

Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority, or until they are not members of the legislative body from which they were appointed. Appointing authorities shall fill vacancies on the commission within 30 days of a vacancy being created.

The commission shall meet in January of each odd-numbered year to elect its chair and vice-chair. They shall serve until successors are elected. The chair and vice-chair shall alternate biennially between the senate and the house of representatives. The commission shall meet at the call of the chair. The members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for their reasonable expenses consistent with the rules of the legislature governing expense reimbursement.

Record last updated: 09/04/2018

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image